Thought inc.

The Dynamic O/R Mapping Company
     

CocoBase Technical Support Forums
For access to developer site with software download and doc's, please request CocoBase download and password
will be emailed to you. Response to posts will appear when answered by THOUGHT Support team.
NOTE:You must register separately with forum in order to post your questions, please click on register icon below.
Home   Frequently Asked Questions   Search   Edit your profile   Registration is free!  
Email This Page to Someone!
Show a Printable Version
CocoBase Enterprise O/R Forums > CocoBase Questions
How to implement batch inserts/updates 4.5
< Previous Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread    Post New Thread     Post A Reply
BHLossini
Member

Registered: Jun 2005
Posts: 7

Our installation is using CocoBase 4.5 tied to an Oracle 9.i database running under iPlanet 6.5 application server.

One of your replies to a previous posting suggested using batch inserts/updates to improve performance where large volumes of data is to be updated in a single transaction (invoked from a web page). Is this available for 4.5 and if so, can you please provide a link to the appropriate documentation on how this is implemented? It would be appreciated.

05-03-2006 09:59 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for BHLossini    Find more posts by BHLossini        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
admin
Administrator

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 19

If you're on the latest SR8 of CocoBase 4.5, yes it supports batch inserts/updates and deletes. To confirm the version of CocoBase you are using, the %coco_home%\version.txt file will provide you with the specific details.

Both the lower level CocoPowder* classes and the CBFacade have properties you can set to enable these features. We'll assume you're using the CBFacade, in which case you would add the batch features you need such as:

...
cbfprops.put("cocosource.batchinsert", "true");
cbfprops.put("cocosource.batchupdate", "true");
cbfprops.put("cocosource.batchdelete", "true");
...

Then you connect to the CBFacade using these and the rest of your connect properties. The rest is automatically handled by CocoBase.

We hope this answers your question.

THOUGHT Support

05-03-2006 12:00 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for admin    Find more posts by admin        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
All times are PST (US)    Post New Thread     Post A Reply
Forum Jump:
< Previous Thread     Next Thread >

Forum Rules:
Who Can Read The Forum? Any registered user or guest.
Who Can Post New Topics? Any registered user.
Who Can Post Replies? Any registered user.
Changes: Messages can be edited by their author. Messages can be deleted by their author.
Posts: HTML code is OFF. Smilies are OFF. vB code is OFF. [IMG] code is OFF.

Admin Options:
Open / Close Thread
Move Thread
Delete Thread
Edit Thread

< Contact Us - THOUGHT Inc. >

Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000.
Copyright 2001 All Rights Reserved, THOUGHT Inc.