Thought inc.

The Dynamic O/R Mapping Company
     

CocoBase Technical Support Forums
For access to developer site with software download and doc's, please request CocoBase download and password
will be emailed to you. Response to posts will appear when answered by THOUGHT Support team.
NOTE:You must register separately with forum in order to post your questions, please click on register icon below.
Home   Frequently Asked Questions   Search   Edit your profile   Registration is free!  
Email This Page to Someone!
Show a Printable Version
CocoBase Enterprise O/R Forums > CocoBase Bug Reports
Change in Map -> change in code???
  Next Thread >
Author
Thread    Post New Thread     Post A Reply
sumit
Member

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 62

Hi,

We created a table in the database Account (acctid, balance,
userid). Created a map in CocoBase named Account. Then we
created BMP using this map. Then we added column REMARKS in
Account table in the database. When we tried to reflect the
same change in the map, by adding field in ?Edit Map? screen,
CocoBase did not save the change. Next time when we opened
?Edit Map? screen, the change was not reflected. Hence that
field does not appear while creating a bean from the Map.
Because of the above problem, we had to delete the bean,
delete the map, recreate the map and recreate the bean.
This is a very serious problem as we will not be able to
change our table definitions once the map is created for
the first time. This beats the entire purpose of the middle
layer of Map and indicates that Java code is not transparent
of the database changes.

04-26-2001 12:15 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for sumit    Find more posts by sumit        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
admin
Administrator

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 19

CocoBase should save your changes without a problem. There
are a handful of reasons why we could think of a problem in
this area, and you should be seeing a backtrace in the command
prompt used to start CocoAdmin.

You can also enable Debug on CocoAdmin to help debug the
save operation. Did you receive the debug email from your
sales person? If not, email them and ask for it, it's a
comprehensive guide on the various places to enable debug
facilities with CocoBase.

The gist is that you would set the DEBUG flag to true in
your database property file such as demos\resources\Oracle.propertie
or demos\resources\DB2_NT.properties for example. Then
you can restart CocoAdmin and make your changes and do a save.
You'll see lots of diagnostics in the command console where
CocoAdmin is running from.

Please let us know if we can help you further after you've
done these steps.

Hope that helps!

THOUGHT Support

04-26-2001 12:32 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for admin    Find more posts by admin        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
All times are PST (US)    Post New Thread     Post A Reply
Forum Jump:
  Next Thread >

Forum Rules:
Who Can Read The Forum? Any registered user or guest.
Who Can Post New Topics? Any registered user.
Who Can Post Replies? Any registered user.
Changes: Messages can be edited by their author. Messages can be deleted by their author.
Posts: HTML code is OFF. Smilies are OFF. vB code is OFF. [IMG] code is OFF.

Admin Options:
Open / Close Thread
Move Thread
Delete Thread
Edit Thread

< Contact Us - THOUGHT Inc. >

Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000.
Copyright 2001 All Rights Reserved, THOUGHT Inc.