Thought inc.

The Dynamic O/R Mapping Company
     

CocoBase Technical Support Forums
For access to developer site with software download and doc's, please request CocoBase download and password
will be emailed to you. Response to posts will appear when answered by THOUGHT Support team.
NOTE:You must register separately with forum in order to post your questions, please click on register icon below.
Home   Frequently Asked Questions   Search   Edit your profile   Registration is free!  
Email This Page to Someone!
Show a Printable Version
CocoBase Enterprise O/R Forums > CocoBase Bug Reports
CocoBase VAJ integration problem
< Previous Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread    Post New Thread     Post A Reply
sumit
Member

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 62

hi,

I am using Cocobase SR9 and VAJ 3.5.2. After the CocoBase integration with VAJ, I am unable to add datasource in VAJ WebSPhere Test Environment. This used to work before I integrated CocoBase with VAJ. Please check this at your end ASAP.

07-11-2001 11:05 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for sumit    Find more posts by sumit        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
admin
Administrator

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 19

Can you be more specific? Do you get an exception when trying
to add a datasource? We're just complying with the VAJava
mechanisms, and actually ship the integration as source code
so you can see what we did. Unless there's a bug in the
VAJava tool/environment then there should be no problem with
this...

THOUGHT Support

07-12-2001 10:29 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for admin    Find more posts by admin        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
sumit
Member

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 62

Steps:
-----
1. Started WebSphere Test Environment in VAJ.
2. Started the persistent name server succesfully.
3. In datasource configuration, clicked on Add and filled all the info. Then clicked on OK.
Error Message: "Initial context not found. If the persistent name server is not started , please start it now."
After clicking on OK, another error message:
"An error has occurred. Cannot retrieve datasource list from the initial context.
If the persistent name server is not started , please start it now.
com.ibm.ivj.control.node.InitialContextNotFoundException: Unable to create initial context.
javax.naming.NoInitialContextContextException:Cannot instantiate class: com.ibm.ejs.ns.jndi.CNInitialContextFactory [Root exception is...]"

After root exception, nothing is visible.

Here is my VAJ classpath.
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\activation.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\javax_ejb.zip;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\javax_jta.zip;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\javax_jts.zip;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\javax_rmi.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\jaxp.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\jdbc2_0-stdext.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\jndi.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\jspengine.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\jta101.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\mail.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\parser.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\providerutil.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\RmiJdbc.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\rmiregistry.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\servlet.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\swingall.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\webserver.jar;
D:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\lib\xml.jar;

07-13-2001 12:19 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for sumit    Find more posts by sumit        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
admin
Administrator

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 19

Ok it's more clear now why you are having a problem. IBM has
its own version of all of these jar files, and you shouldn't
be including the CocoBase versions of them. The CocoBase jar
files for EJB/JDBC/JNDI etc. are there either for other test
EJB servers or for compilation outside of VAJava.

The only CocoBase jar files you should need to include in
VAJava are possibly the RmiJdbc.jar and idb.jar if you are
using InstantDB. Otherwise you should be installing all of
these facilities from IBM itself using the 'Add Feature' of
VAJava. The VAJava test environment will automatically
include the correct jar files needed by websphere, and if you
include the CocoBase versions in the classpath you'll get
a conflict just as you reported.

Hope that helps!

THOUGHT Support

07-13-2001 11:25 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for admin    Find more posts by admin        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
sumit
Member

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 62

Thanks a lot guys for the response!!! IT WORKS!!!
But a small issue.
When we start coco admin tool from within VAJ, I get the following output on console :


Stored Procedure Meta Data currently disabled for this session of CocoAdmin!
To enable Stored Procedure Meta Data in the CocoAdmin tool, edit startup file:
demos\resources\CocoAdmin.properties and set 'USEPROCEDURES=true' and save.
Loading Stored Procedure Meta Data can be slow, so it's disabled by default.
java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: javax.ejb.EJBObject
java.lang.Throwable(java.lang.String)
java.lang.Exception(java.lang.String)
java.lang.ClassNotFoundException(java.lang.String)
java.lang.Class java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(java.lang.String)
java.lang.Class java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(java.lang.String, boolean)
java.lang.Class sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(java.lang.String, boolean)
java.lang.Class java.lang.Class.forName0(java.lang.String, boolean, java.lang.ClassLoader)
java.lang.Class java.lang.Class.forName(java.lang.String)
com.thought.CocoAdmin.CmpInstaller.CmpInstallerMain()
java.lang.Object java.lang.Class.newInstance0()
java.lang.Object java.lang.Class.newInstance()
javax.swing.JMenuBar com.thought.CocoAdmin.CocoAdmin.createMenuBar()
com.thought.CocoAdmin.CocoAdmin()
void com.thought.CocoAdmin.CocoAdmin.main(java.lang.String [])

Copyright (c) 1996-2000 THOUGHT Inc. All Rights Reserved.
CocoBase Enterprise JDBC O/R Layer Initiated.

Checking CocoBase License...
Commercial License issued to 'Sumit Mishra (10 Developer Licenses)' for 'CashTech Solutions (Invoice C487)' at 'sumit@cash-tech.com'.

Copyright (c) 1996-2000 THOUGHT Inc. All Rights Reserved.
CocoBase JDBC Layer Initiated.

Commercial License issued to 'Sumit Mishra (10 Developer Licenses)' for 'CashTech Solutions (Invoice C487)' at 'sumit@cash-tech.com'.

No XML repository specified, all Maps will be retrieved from the Database.


Why do i get the exception??
Actually, i used to get this excewption earlier also, hence to remove the same, i added all the jar files in the classpath. After that i did not get this exception.
Please tell me what is the problem here.

Eagerly waiting for the reply.......

07-14-2001 08:29 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for sumit    Find more posts by sumit        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
admin
Administrator

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 19

You get that exception because the CMP Installer expects for
you to have the javax_ejb.zip classes to be included into
classpath of the VAJava environment. Our cocovaj.bat script
in SR11 is supposed to automatically be extracted into the
%VAJ_HOME%\ide\tools\com-thought-CocoAdmin subdirectory, which
would make it be found automatically.

Double check your installation to make sure those classes are
included...

THOUGHT Support

07-16-2001 09:29 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for admin    Find more posts by admin        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
sumit
Member

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 62

Hi,

We are using SR9.
Is it that the exception that i talked about is only relevant in case of CMP installer? If I remove all those JAR files, will it affect my code generation from CocoBase or anything at run time?

"Our cocovaj.bat script in SR11 is supposed to automatically be extracted into the %VAJ_HOME%\ide\tools\com-thought-CocoAdmin subdirectory, which would make it be found automatically."

Please clarify more on this statement.

07-18-2001 04:39 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for sumit    Find more posts by sumit        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
admin
Administrator

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 19

You should be using SR11 instead. It has been updated for
better integration into VAJava, and this issue will probably
disappear automatically.

THOUGHT Support

07-18-2001 09:25 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for admin    Find more posts by admin        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
All times are PST (US)    Post New Thread     Post A Reply
Forum Jump:
< Previous Thread     Next Thread >

Forum Rules:
Who Can Read The Forum? Any registered user or guest.
Who Can Post New Topics? Any registered user.
Who Can Post Replies? Any registered user.
Changes: Messages can be edited by their author. Messages can be deleted by their author.
Posts: HTML code is OFF. Smilies are OFF. vB code is OFF. [IMG] code is OFF.

Admin Options:
Open / Close Thread
Move Thread
Delete Thread
Edit Thread

< Contact Us - THOUGHT Inc. >

Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000.
Copyright 2001 All Rights Reserved, THOUGHT Inc.