Thought inc.

The Dynamic O/R Mapping Company
     

CocoBase Technical Support Forums
For access to developer site with software download and doc's, please request CocoBase download and password
will be emailed to you. Response to posts will appear when answered by THOUGHT Support team.
NOTE:You must register separately with forum in order to post your questions, please click on register icon below.
Home   Frequently Asked Questions   Search   Edit your profile   Registration is free!  
Email This Page to Someone!
Show a Printable Version
CocoBase Enterprise O/R Forums > CocoBase Installation
Websphere 3.5 Issue + Installing CocoBase Runtime Libraries into VAJ 3.5.4
< Previous Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread    Post New Thread     Post A Reply
entdemo
Member

Registered: Jul 2001
Posts: 64

Hi all, I've been trying to setup cocobase (0820), VAJ 3.5.4 and Websphere 3.5.3 for the last couple of days and haven't had much success. After managing to get Cocobase to talk to Merant Sequelink for SQL Server, I came across these problems....

1) Ran through the CMP tutorial for Websphere, everything worked well until I tried to run the JSP, it returned the following status:

JSP Processor trying create on home null.
JSP Processor: Unable to locate a Cityinfo because java.lang.NullPointerException

Has anyone had this problem? I've removed everything and started from scratch a couple of times with no luck.

2) Using cocovaj.bat worked without error to install Cocobase, however when I tried to Install Cocobase Runtime libraries. It errors out with the following:

Installing cocobase runtime libraries. Please wait...
Errors occured while generating code:
The source file c:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\C:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\classes\thought\CocoBase\CBClause.class could not be located or opened.
.
.
. Another 30-40 files
.
.
Problems detected while trying to install libraries:
java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.Throwable()
java.lang.Exception()
java.lang.RuntimeException()
java.lang.NullPointerException()
void com.thought.vaj.VAJInstaller.installLibraries()
void com.thought.vaj.VAJInstaller.installLibraries()
void com.thought.vaj.VAJInstaller.main(java.lang.String [])

It appears that the path that it looks at for the files is repeated ie:

c:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\C:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\classes\thought\CocoBase\

I figured this was the COCO_HOME environment variable I had setup, so removed it, unfortunately this didn't fix the problem. Has anyone seen this before?

thanks in advance,
Andrew Bates

08-30-2001 11:47 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for entdemo    Find more posts by entdemo        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
alex
Super Moderator

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 0

Regarding question 2), take a look at the file

c:\Program Files\IBM\VisualAge for Java\ide\tools\com-thought-vaj\classlist.txt

This file contains the list of classes that should
be imported by VAJ. Check this file to see if the file names
in the list have c:\thought\cocodemo3tier31\
repeated twice as in your message. If so, you can
correct this manually or you can try the command
SET COCO_HOME=c:\thought\cocodemo3tier31 explicitly
in the beginning of the cocovaj.bat file to see if that
generates the correct list of classes. The cocovaj.bat
uses the command

dir /b /s /a:-D %COCO_HOME%\classes\thought

to generate the list of classes. You can also run this
command in your prompt window and see what you get.

08-31-2001 05:41 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for alex    Visit alex's homepage!   Find more posts by alex        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
entdemo
Member

Registered: Jul 2001
Posts: 64
Update

Thanks Alex that fixed problem 2, the classlist file did have the full path, so removing the first part (which was also stored in the %COCO_HOME% variable) fixed the problem.

However I'm still having problems with getting the JSP page to communicate with the EJB. In the CityinfoProcessor
source code it references cmp.ibm.CityinfoHome however in the deployed EJB file within Websphere the class is com.ibm.CityinfoHome. Could this be the problem?

09-02-2001 07:46 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for entdemo    Find more posts by entdemo        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
admin
Administrator

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 19
Update

This definitely looks like a problem. Try undeploying the application and redeploying with the correct reference (com.ibm.CityinfoHome).

TSDI

09-04-2001 10:58 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for admin    Find more posts by admin        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
All times are PST (US)    Post New Thread     Post A Reply
Forum Jump:
< Previous Thread     Next Thread >

Forum Rules:
Who Can Read The Forum? Any registered user or guest.
Who Can Post New Topics? Any registered user.
Who Can Post Replies? Any registered user.
Changes: Messages can be edited by their author. Messages can be deleted by their author.
Posts: HTML code is OFF. Smilies are OFF. vB code is OFF. [IMG] code is OFF.

Admin Options:
Open / Close Thread
Move Thread
Delete Thread
Edit Thread

< Contact Us - THOUGHT Inc. >

Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000.
Copyright 2001 All Rights Reserved, THOUGHT Inc.