Thought inc.

The Dynamic O/R Mapping Company
     

CocoBase Technical Support Forums
For access to developer site with software download and doc's, please request CocoBase download and password
will be emailed to you. Response to posts will appear when answered by THOUGHT Support team.
NOTE:You must register separately with forum in order to post your questions, please click on register icon below.
Home   Frequently Asked Questions   Search   Edit your profile   Registration is free!  
Email This Page to Someone!
Show a Printable Version
CocoBase Enterprise O/R Forums > CocoBase Bug Reports
Admin app locks up when trying to add a field to a map
< Previous Thread     Next Thread >
Author
Thread    Post New Thread     Post A Reply
johnh6
Member

Registered: Apr 2002
Posts: 3

Hi,
I have run into an interesting issue when trying to add fields to an existing map using the Admin tool. After changing either the schema name or the table name, a dialog appears asking if the changes should be applied locally or globally. The problem occurs when attempting to press either button on that dialog. The dialog is unresponsive. If I move the dialog, a duplicate copy of the dialog appears where the original was, with the same behavior as the previous dialog.

Is this a known issue, and is there a work-around for it? I am using the 0315 version.

Thanks in advance,
John

04-30-2002 10:34 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for johnh6    Find more posts by johnh6        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
admin
Administrator

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 19

Which version of JDK are you using? This sounds like an event
handling issue. Try to make sure you're using either a JDK
1.3 or JDK 1.2.x runtime. We've seen some bad event issues
with swing on JDK 1.4 that hopefully will get fixed in the
next update - so give that a try and let us know if that
solves or doesn't solve the issue.

And also you tried clicking the dialog more than once? We've
seen cases where the first click grabs the dialog window, but
doesn't forward the select event to the button. You might
just need to click on the button more than once. If you let
us know what OS & JVM you're using, we can also try to
reproduce this inhouse to see if it's an event issue we can
have engineering workaround...

THOUGHT Support

04-30-2002 11:00 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for admin    Find more posts by admin        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
johnh6
Member

Registered: Apr 2002
Posts: 3

sorry, we're using JDK 1.3.1

04-30-2002 11:09 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for johnh6    Find more posts by johnh6        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
admin
Administrator

Registered: Apr 2001
Posts: 19

Are you seeing any errors in the Console window? Sometimes
we've also seen a mismatch when the classpath & path don't
match between two versions of JVMs installed. In that
case you should see errors in the console window where
CocoAdmin is launched from.

Did you receive any exceptions?

THOUGHT Support

04-30-2002 11:17 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for admin    Find more posts by admin        Edit/Delete Message    Reply w/Quote    IP: Logged
All times are PST (US)    Post New Thread     Post A Reply
Forum Jump:
< Previous Thread     Next Thread >

Forum Rules:
Who Can Read The Forum? Any registered user or guest.
Who Can Post New Topics? Any registered user.
Who Can Post Replies? Any registered user.
Changes: Messages can be edited by their author. Messages can be deleted by their author.
Posts: HTML code is OFF. Smilies are OFF. vB code is OFF. [IMG] code is OFF.

Admin Options:
Open / Close Thread
Move Thread
Delete Thread
Edit Thread

< Contact Us - THOUGHT Inc. >

Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000.
Copyright 2001 All Rights Reserved, THOUGHT Inc.